Confessions From The Spouse of a Nosy Neighbor

 

Everyone has a nosy neighbor.

It’s essentially become a part of moving to any new home. You check out the schools, the carpeting, where the nosy neighbor lives, the cabinet space…

If you don’t believe me, watch any sitcom from the sixties or seventies. If there was a neighbor, that neighbor was always butting in at the worst time. They also seem to have a tendency to be there for any awkward situation that could be confused for something slightly sexual. (This was the entire plot of Three’s Company. You would think eventually Mr. Roper would have come across them saying something very innocent, like “Check out my new socks. They’re argyle!” but NO, Mr. Roper always heard them talking about something that sounds risqué. He must have been a very confused man.)

These neighbors aren’t just limited to fictitious television programs, though. My parents recently put their house on the market. Before it was even listed, a couple of neighbors had called the realtor to find out about it. Now, unless they were planning on building one giant super house complete with skyway across the cul-de-sac, they were just being curious, aka nosy.

Since moving to my current apartment, I have been trying to identify my nosy neighbor. No one has given me the tell tale signs that sitcoms have taught us, such as walking in and raiding my fridge without an invitation, so I’m left guessing.

For a while, I thought I knew who it was. They always seemed a bit short and distant. In fact, if I said hello to them, they would get a panicked look and sort of wave back, but never say a word. As everyone knows, if you are snooping about, you don’t really want to have a friendly neighborly discussion with your snooping victim.

It turns out they are just weird and slightly rude. They don’t want to know what I’m up to, they just want to move to a deserted island away from all society and people where they can live out the rest of their awkward lives alone and quiet.

Shortly after moving, our neighbor on the other side moved. No nosy neighbor there either.

That’s when it hit me: my wife is the nosy neighbor.

The signs had been there all along, but just recently became overwhelming.

For example, this last week, I was sitting in my living room, minding my own business. As she came down our staircase, the water pipes in our shared wall came to life and she looked at me.

“Our neighbor takes a lot of showers,” she said.

“Yeah, I guess,” I said.

“He takes at least two a day.”

“Maybe he wants to be clean,” I replied.

“Still, that’s a lot of showering.”

I half expected her to pull out a chart of our neighbor’s showering times and show his previous five shower times to prove her point.

This, of course, is not a lone incident. We have also had discussions about our neighbor’s cat, our neighbor’s parking space (which is understandable, since they constantly use the guest parking spot instead of their own assigned spot), our neighbor’s music, etc.

If she lived next to, say, an astronaut who had befriended a genie with a scandalous bare midriff, there would be numerous wide eyed and slack jawed expressions from her. She would also, at some point, be turned into some sort of animal on accident, a feat which is awfully hard to explain to a nosy neighbor.

What does this mean for me?

First of all, it means I have my own private neighborhood watch. No one is going to get a new couch without my knowledge. Also, they have a witness to corroborate their alibi if they are ever charged with murder. That’s called a win-win.

Secondly, I know what NOT to get her for gifts. Binoculars, telescopes, supersonic hearing devices are all off of the table.

I also know what to get the neighbors for gifts, assuming they ever want to be friends.

Blinds. Lots and lots of blinds.

11 thoughts on “Confessions From The Spouse of a Nosy Neighbor

  1. That’s hysterical!
    I always end up with the little old lady version of nosy neighbor. The kind with one eye out the blinds and one hand on the phone at all times. That’s my favorite brand, they crack me up.

    Like

  2. She could be the person who always pops her head over the fence (you’ll need to move somewhere that you can have a fenced backyard for her to pop her head out of) and join in on conversations that your neighbours assumed were private.
    “Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that your 15 year old daughter’s pregnant! Why did you tell everyone that she’s gone to stay with her grandmother for a few months, though, if she’s actually in a nunnery until the baby’s born?”
    or is the nosy neighbour sneaky and quiet about hearing that, and then brings it up at the next block-party?

    Like

  3. Hahaha. Somebody’s got to keep track of water waste! I actually managed an apartment community before becoming a mom. I lived on site and it took a few conversations about residents who never clean up their dogs’ poop and who just colored her hair and got a divorce before my husband figured out I was the building spy.

    Like

  4. As the daughter of a nosy neighbour, I know exactly how it is.
    We were watching TV, and my mum suddenly froze. And then she switched it off, rushed outside to the balcony, and stood there watching the neighbours fight over parking space. For the next half hour.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Do you have time for a quick compliment? | rarasaur

This Would Be A Really Good Time To Reply...